Image title: Manchester LibDems Audrey Jones Keith Whitmore & David Sandiford

Manchester LibDems Audrey Jones Keith Whitmore & David Sandiford

Outgoing Lord Mayor Audrey Jones, with fellow councillors Keith Whitmore on the right, and David Sandiford on the left. These were the original group of three Liberal Councillors on Manchester City Council from 1979 onwards. From May 2004 there are 38 Liberal Democrat councillors on Manchester City Council.

See another photo of Audrey Jones taken at the same time on the Manchester Liberal Democrats website.

In the UK, the post of Lord Mayor is largely ceremonial. The Lord Mayor is elected for a period of one year by other council members on the basis of seniority. At present a few towns and cities including London, Hartlepool and Stoke-on-Trent have powerful executive style mayors, similar to those in the United States.


Manchester LibDems Audrey Jones Keith Whitmore & David Sandiford



ID number:

Technical details:
Nikon D100

Manchester, Liberal Democrats, local politics, local politicians

Date created:

Aidan O'RourkeAidan O’Rourke has built up a wide range of experience in both film and digital photography. He first became interested in photography in 1981. Since 1996 he has documented Manchester and Liverpool in photos and words. Aidan O’Rourke is a multimedia journalist and tutor in photography and languages. He is based in Stockport and covers Manchester, Liverpool and northern England.

Follow Aidan O'Rourke @AidanEyewitness on Twitter Link up with Aidan O'Rourke on Facebook Link up with Aidan O'Rourke on YouTube Pinterest Instagram Linked In Google Plus

Subscribe to my Photography Mailing List to receive occasional updates on photo walks, courses, books and projects

* indicates required

Home Page | Sitemap | Contact Site design by Aidan O'Rourke ©1996 - 2016